At a Glance
Having a total area of 0.5 square miles (all of it land), Narberth is an enclave surrounded by Lower Merion Township, close to the western edge of Philadelphia. It's part of the "Main Line", a sting of leafy, picturesque suburbs with quaint Welsh names.
SEPTA Paoli / Thorndale Line, SEPTA Route 44 bus and Route 100 Trolley.
- Borough of Narberth
- Narberth Civic Association
- Narberth Business District
- Narberth Business Association
Narberth is located on a parcel of land originally deeded to Edward Rees, who arrived from Wales in 1682. A portion of this original tract became the 100-acre farm of Edward R. Price, who founded Elm as a Quaker-friendly town in 1881. The town name changed to Narberth in 1893, and Narberth was incorporated in 1895.
Narberth is unique among those locations in that it is fairly enclosed; no major thoroughfares run through the town, but Montgomery Avenue runs northwest/southeast along the borough’s northern border.
Because of its small size, Narberth is a walking town, with virtually all of its shopping and recreational facilities within walking distance of residents’ houses. SEPTA’s “Main Line” railroad tracks separate North Side from South Side. Narberth is mostly a residential community, with a central business district along Haverford, Narberth, Forrest, and Essex Avenues.
Narberth is divided up into sections, each with a different personality. Downtown Narberth is where the main cluster of stores and public facilities are located. This area borders Haverford Avenue and is delimited by Wynnewood Road, north of the train tracks. Among the commercial downtown landmarks are the town’s original movie house, the Narberth Theater, a double-screen theater; Ricklin’s Hardware Store; Mapes 5 & 10, which now has two locations and is the last of the area’s independent variety stores; and The Greeks Bar and Restaurant. An assortment of coffee shops, dress shops, and antique establishments line the district. The Narberth Playground, bordered by Haverford, Wynnewood, and Windsor Avenues, is known for its popular summer basketball leagues, featuring summer night games with some of the best local high school and collegiate players. The playground has a unique and traditional July 4 festival, mostly unchanged for more than a century, which begins at 9 AM with children’s races and culminates twelve hours later in one of the region’s best-known fireworks displays. Narberth’s public library, renovated in 2009, is located adjacent to the entrance to the children’s playground on Windsor Avenue.
South Narberth lies south of the train tracks and over the Narberth Avenue bridge. It is sometimes confused with Merion because of its resemblance to that municipality. This entirely residential area extends west into Wynnewood and south into Merion, delimited by Rockland Avenue and East Wynnewood Road.